Friday Night Lights – Season One, Episode Seventeen

“I Think We Should Have Sex”

I was not prepared for the wave of feelings that hit me. This show will be the death of me I swear to god. In this episode the Taylors continue to be the greatest family that have ever been written. Tim breaks my heart. And Buddy goes back to being absolutely despicable.

The Taylors

No. Just no. Not today thank you, too many feelings in one episode.

I have wonderful parents, whom I love with every single piece of my heart, and even I’m jealous of Julie Taylor. Naively, when their story begins I think it’s going to end with my being furious at them. Tami’s speech to Julie about waiting to have sex, all I could think was “shouldn’t you be pleased that they’re being responsible enough to consider protection”, and then, as funny as it was, Eric’s reaction when Tami tells him… I worried that they wouldn’t come around to seeing the other side to this, and I was getting all ready to be mad. Like that was ever going to happen. Julie and Matt don’t have sex in the end, he recognises that she’s not really ready, and I don’t think he was either, but they fall asleep and she misses her curfew. When she gets home though, in stead of being mad at her they’re just loving, and it was wonderful and they’re wonderful, and I just can’t even.

Tim

Oh my Tim! So his dad stuck around after he returned to watch the game, and he and Tim are hanging out, and this is far from nice because his dad is shady, but Tim is happy to have him around, and that’s what’s nice. Until his dad steals a camera from the team and ruins everything. Tim was so quick to defend Walt when Eric confronted him, he didn’t want to believe that his dad could do something like that, and then just to see that faith shattered is heartbreaking. He sends him away, rightly so, I mean Billy might not be perfect, but he’s a better parent to his brother than their dad is. Tim seeks out the guy from the bar that he and Walt hustled at the start of the episode, and deliberately gets himself beat up. He’s a mess and it’s horrible to watch because he was doing so well.

Buddy

Well it was nice while it lasted. I had so much love for Buddy when he was being so supportive of Lyla but right now I can barely remember that. After Eric tells him he needs to end his affair, he fires Tyra’s mum, and goes back home to play happy families. And you know what, I feel really bad for his wife and kids, I do, but when Angela confronted him at the church, I just felt good for her for not taking her treatment lying down, it seems as though Tyra’s words over the last few episodes really did hit home.

Leave a comment