The X-Files – Season One, Episode Twelve

“Fire”

In the episode of The X-Files we learn that Mark Sheppard has always been fantastic, that Mulder’s ex girlfriend is manipulative and annoying wrapped up in a little British package, and fire is terrifying whatever genre your show.

Mulder/Scully/Phoebe

I’m hoping that this is the last we see of Phoebe. She introduces herself by making Mulder and Scully think they’re about to be blown up, you know because that’s the sane way to drop by and ask for help from your ex. She brings Mulder a case of a guy who has caught fire without any source of ignition. It’s pyrokinesis which my autocorrect wants to change to perkiness and I was genuinely expecting Mulder to be like “Yep, it’s aliens” but no, he’d already heard of this.

Phoebe’s treatment of Mulder over this episode is appalling, she uses their past relationship to toy with him and get her do what ever she wants, she exploits his intense fear of fire, and then disappears back to England without even a goodbye. What she does do however, and I’m assuming there that this was the aim, is stand in stark contrast to Scully, who does nothing but look out for Mulder in this episode. There are some rather awkward scenes where she’s stuck as the third wheel watching them dance or kiss, and she looks more that a little jealous. Not that I can blame her, him in that tux, my oh my!

Cecil L’Ively 

Mark Sheppard is so wonderful in this that I don’t care if he’s the villian, I hope he’s back again! His performance here, for me, was the best of them all, there is just something so frightening about Cecil, but it’s subtle. You know right from the beginning that he’s dangerous, and it’s really good use of dramatic irony, but he blends in so well that it’s believable that the characters are fooled. When he’s first talking to the kids and he’s showing them the magic trick, it played in such a way that it’s almost easy to forget what he’s done, until he’s trying to convince them to smoke that is. There is a magnetism in the performance that makes this character so creepy and yet so watchable.

that

5 thoughts on “The X-Files – Season One, Episode Twelve

  1. Sahar

    It was rather annoying, the way Phoebe was treating Mulder. And kind of interesting too, in the way of character development. After all, we know that Mulder was quite the star at the Academy, and yet he was treated like this by Phoebe. I’m guessing this is your first watch of The X-Files?

    Reply
    1. samgray93 Post author

      Yeah, first time I’m watching it, and I’m feeling so incredibly late to the game, I was a baby when this aired! You’re right though, Phoebe’s treatment of Mulder was interesting, and had she been less annoying I think I might have wanted to know more!

      Reply
      1. Sahar

        I was a kid myself 😛 I want to know more about Mulder’s days in university and at the Academy! Do you review as you watch, or have you already watched ahead a few episodes?

Leave a comment